Posted in bookreview

Book Review – ARDH-SATYA

KnittedTales_n

Book : ARDH-SATYA The Half Truth & Other Stories

Author : Ananya Mukherjee
Paperback price : 243.00/-
Kindle (discounted price) : 191.69/-
Pages : 230

This was my first read by Author, and WHAT A BOOK. I am really impressed with the writing of author.

This book is bounded with 20 beautiful and some amazing stories, and divided in four parts :
-> The Equation
-> God Must be a Mother
-> Between Divine & Mortal
-> Life Positive

“In beginning, there were only a few words, then sentences. Then songs happened; then poetry. What remained of me became my story”

I have loved how author Ananya Mukherjee has expressed her stories in words blended beautifully. Since the very start, dedicating book to her parent, she had me captured. I knew it, it will be greatest of reads.

Being an Indian and knowing different places is what had worked for the Author. She has captured different states of country and their culture. In the book you can find, stories from all around the world and some are very much embedded with Indian culture from Mumbai, Kashmir, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Calcutta (Kolkata).

The biggest disadvantage of book compromising short stories is, all can’t be 100% your likeable. Same happened to me while reading Ardh-Satya. There are some stories, which I felt like was far too much stretched in the middle.

Also I read a lot of Indian authors, and I have NO SHAME in saying. Ananya’s writing style and language used is one of the finest I have read.
The author has a way of describing things like a simple sunrise

“I grew up watching the sun trickle its first rays through the round-headed glass windows with coloured motifs above the doorway on the porch, and sunshine slipping in through the large Venetian window at the East-end. It overlooked the blue mountain in the distance and the emerald green valley below.”

Didn’t those words just made a beautiful painting in your mind, of what the person feeling,viewing. And there are many such places, that author has done this beautifully.

I know, authors tend to do that. That’s why they are authors, but go and read other Indian authors and you will know what I am saying :3

Also what more I liked about the stories were they started off like a first person format. And we try to imagine its a man or woman, but after first page or few paragraphs it turns out Ouchh.!! the first person was someone else. I really liked that kind, and usually went backwards to see if I missed seeing it at the first time.

Ananya Mukherjee has included amazing words/poems at the starting of each parts and some of the stories, that blend amazingly with the parts/story.

My favorite part will always be God Must be a Mother, because that’s the part where all 4 stories are heart touching ❤

KnittedTales_n

Cover: 5/5
Title: 5/5
Blurb: 4/5**
Theme: 5/5
Story: 5/5
Characters: 5/5
Overall: 5/5

**Correct me if I am wrong to say, the blurb doesn’t justify what the book consist 🙂

The book was provided by Leadstart Publishing, in exchange of chocolates, money, ice creams (NOTHING LIKE THAT) only honest review.

You can buy book (paperback or kindle edition from amazon) from following link

ARDH-SATYA The Half Truth and other stories

If you would like me to review your book, please feel free to get in touch with us at www.facebook.com/ReaderWriterCafe

or find me at my Bookstagram page @night.bibliophile ❤

 

 

One thought on “Book Review – ARDH-SATYA

Leave a comment